Young Cubs Place Nine On All-Mission League Team

Nine players from league-champion Loyola were honored with spots on the All-Mission League Team selected Tuesday by the league’s coaches, including eight underclassmen and four sophomores — three on the first team.

Pictured above, from left: Sophomores Jonathan Partamian (35 goals, 20 assists), Ryder Mora (20g, 12a), Nick Mohler (54 groundballs) and Joe Theuer (8.3 goals-against, .583 save percentage) earned all-league honors for Loyola (15-4), with Partamian, Mohler and Theuer on the first team and Mora on the second team. Junior attack Sean Smith was named to the first team for the second year in a row, and junior defender Tommy Riley and junior LSM Max Neblina also made the first team. Junior midfielder Michael Lira made the second team, along with senior attack Harrison Mac.

In all, there were 15 underclassmen named to the 24-player first- and second-team All-Mission lists, six of them sophomores.

Alex Dixon, Crespi; Tommy Riley, Loyola
Crespi’s Alex Dixon was named league MVP. Loyola’s Tommy Riley was first-team all-Mission.

Crespi senior Alex Dixon was named Mission League MVP for the second year in a row. He shared the honor with Roman Holthouse of Harvard Westlake last year. This year, Dixon scored 92 goals in 20 games in leading the Celts (13-7) to the L.A. championship game. Dixon was joined on the first team by junior middie Jack Doyle (45g, 33a).

Roman Holthouse, Harvard Westlake
Harvard Westlake attack Roman Holthouse and Chaminade defender Cole Millard.

After sharing MVP honors as a junior, Harvard Westlake attack Holthouse was named first-team All-Mission this year, one of four Wolverines so honored. Senior middie Joe Woody, senior defender Andrew Park and junior faceoff specialist Philip Thompson also made the first team for Harvard Westlake (11-8).

Sean Smith, Loyola; Daniel Jackson, Crespi
Loyola’s Sean Smith was named first-team; Crespi’s Daniel Jackson made the second team.

Here is the complete 2015 All-Mission League team:

Most Valuable Player: Alex Dixon, Crespi, senior

First Team
Alex Dixon, Crespi, senior
Roman Holthouse, Harvard Westlake, senior
Sean Smith, Loyola, junior

Jack Doyle, Crespi, junior
Jonathan Partamian, Loyola, sophomore
Joe Woody, Harvard Westlake, senior

Max Neblina, Loyola, junior

Specialty (Faceoff)
Philip Thompson, Harvard Westlake, junior

Tommy Riley, Loyola, junior
Nick Mohler, Loyola, sophomore
Andrew Park, Harvard Westlake, senior

Joe Theuer, Loyola, sophomore

Second Team
Cam Radenberg, Crespi, senior
Harrison Mac, Loyola, senior
Dylan Sweet, St. Francis, senior

Ryder Mora, Loyola, sophomore
Ryan Oaks, Chaminade, junior
Michael Lira, Loyola, junior

Shane Houska, Harvard Westlake, sophomore

Specialty (Faceoff)
Mark Galanti, Chaminade, junior

Niko Econn, Harvard Westlake, sophomore
Cole Millard, Chaminade, junior
Daniel Jackson, Crespi, senior

Nick Enos, Crespi, senior