Women’s Professional Lacrosse League Announces Head Coaches

Women’s Professional Lacrosse League (WPLL) founder Michele DeJuliis and commissioner announced the league’s inaugural coaching lineup for the upcoming summer 2018 season.

“We are excited to name such a high caliber lineup of coaches for the five inaugural teams,” said Adams in press release. “Each coach brings a wealth of knowledge and a creative style that mirrors the brand of lacrosse that the league will have on display. Moreover, these coaches are extremely committed to the growth of our sport at all levels. We are fortunate to have such strong, motivated leadership across the league and I look forward to working with each of them as we take the into the future.”

The Baltimore Brave will be led by University’s Sonia LaMonica. LaMonica guided to a 12-7 mark in 2017, earning an at-large bid into the NCAA Tournament. Through seven seasons under LaMonica’s guidance, Towson has made five NCAA Tournament berths and has captured multiple CAA championships. A former All-American and national champion out of the University of , LaMonica has also represented Team Australia internationally making multiple World Cup appearances. In 2005, she helped the Aussies strike gold for the first time in world history before picking up a silver in 2009 and bronze in 2013.

The New England Command will be led by former Dartmouth coach Amy Patton. Having spent 24 years on the Dartmouth sidelines as the Big Green’s head coach, Patton guided the Ivy power to 13 NCAA Tournament appearances – making four Final Four trips, including a berth into the 2006 national championship game. Internationally, she spent five years with the U.S. national teams program (2005-09). Patton was also the coach of the UWLX’s Boston Storm a season ago. A graduate of the University of , Patton was a two-sport athlete and earned All-American honors with the lacrosse program having captured the 1986 national championship.

The New York Fight will be led by Hofstra University’s . Smith, a three-time first-team All-American out of Northwestern University, helped guide the Wildcats to three national championships and captured the Tewaaraton Trophy in 2011. Last spring marked Smith’s fifth season at the helm of the Pride, as Hofstra finished 8-8. Under Smith, the Pride have made three CAA Tournament appearances. Smith served as the UWLX’s Long Island Sound head coach in 2016, leading them to the league’s inaugural championship.

The Philadelphia Fire will be led by Ricky Fried.  Fried joins the WPLL team coming off a summer spent leading to back-to-back World Championships at the FIL World Cup in England and the World Games in Poland. The U.S. national team coach now boasts three women’s World Cup gold medals – earning two as a head coach (2013, 2017) and one as an assistant coach (2009).

Fried also serves as the head coach at University and is now heading into his 14th season at the helm of the Hoyas program after serving as an assistant in 2003 and 2004. Under Fried, has captured seven BIG EAST regular season crowns and has made six trips to the BIG EAST Tournament championship – winning in 2010. During his 2014 season, he became the winningest coach in program history.

Fried has coached 22 All-Americans, as well as the National Goalie of the Year, two BIG EAST Attackers of the Year, two BIG EAST Midfielders of the Year and five BIG EAST Defensive Players of the Year.

Lastly, the Upstate Pride will be led by ’s Katie Rowan. Rowan, a three-time first-team All-American out of Syracuse, became the Orange’s first Tewaaraton Finalist in 2009 and captured back-to-back world championships with the U.S. women’s national team in 2009 and 2013. Rowan is Syracuse’s (396) and ’s (67) all-time leader in points. In her first year at the helm of in 2016, Rowan led the Seahawks to their first NEC Tournament championship and NCAA berth – marking Rowan’s 10th consecutive season being a part of the NCAA Tournament as either a player or a coach. Prior to Wagner, Rowan served as an assistant coach at Syracuse (2010, 2013-15) and Albany (2011-12).

“The WPLL is proud to have such an accomplished, talented and passionate group of coaches who value the growth and development of our game and players,” says DeJuliis. “As the excitement builds around this league our goal is to provide great leadership and mentoring to our current and next generation of players that will experience the WPLL programming and its mission. These coaches are dedicated to this mission and excited to get to work.”