Waters Goes No. 1 in Inaugural WPLL Draft


Riley Chester of St. Margaret’s Commits to Monmouth

Chester finished his junior year with 33 goals and 17 assists.

Julian Jenkins of Los Alamitos commits to Holy Cross

Jenkins was an All Sunset League First Teamer team and Griffins captain this past spring.

St. Margaret’s Hires Megan Armes as girls lacrosse coach

St. Margaret's Episcopal School recently announced the hiring of...

West Genesee More Than Just a Lacrosse Drill

It was 1984, and Syracuse freshman and starting midfielder...


The Women’s Professional Lacrosse League (WPLL) inaugural draft class was broadcast live on Lax Sports Network on Wednesday, August 23rd. A total of 100 women’s lacrosse players were selected by the five teams scheduled to begin WPLL competition next summer

The Philadelphia Fire selected North Carolina’s Caylee Waters (’17) with the first pick in the league’s history. Waters is a former All-American, National Goalie of the Year and National Champion.

Kayla Treanor (Syracuse ’16) was selected by the New England Command with the No. 2 pick in the draft.  Treanor who played for the Boston Storm in the UWLX brings a year of professional playing experience to the Command.  She is a former three-time first-team All-American and Tewaaraton finalist, as well as a World Cup gold medal winner.

The New York Fight opted for defense with the third pick in the draft by selecting Alice Mercer (Maryland ’16).  Mercer, like Treanor, is a world champion,  The former All-American and Tewaaraton winner, won a pair of gold medals with Team USA in the World Cup and World Games this summer.

The Baltimore Brave selected Michelle Tumolo (Syracuse ’13) with the No. 4 pick of the draft.  The Upstate Pride closed out the first round by choosing Ally Carey (Vanderbilt ’12) with the fifth overall pick.

Although, league play will not begin until summer 2018, fans won’t have to wait that long to see the WPLL players in action.    A Showcase Game and Legends Celebration will be held during Inaugural Weekend at US Lacrosse headquarters on Sept. 30.