US Lacrosse Names Nine L.A. All-Americans

The Los Angeles chapter of U.S. Lacrosse announced nine players as area All-Americans this week, including six players who also were named All-American last season. L.A. Champion Loyola had three players selected All-American, including repeat honorees Sean Smith and Joe Theuer. Runner-up Palos Verdes had four players honored, including two-time selections Jarrett Jones and Shane Sharp.

Joining Smith and Theuer as All-American from Loyola is junior midfielder Jonathan Partamian, who is committed to play at Syracuse. Smith, a senior attack, will play next year at Connecticut College. Theuer, a junior goalie, has not announced a college commitment. Partamian and Theuer are the only juniors among this year’s All-American selections.

Additionally, Loyola head coach Seth Cohen was named the area’s Coach of the Year, and Cubs assistant Brett Tietjen was named Assistant Coach of the Year, his second consecutive selection to that honor.

L.A. All-Americans: Jonathan Partamian, Peter Henkhaus, Rizal Smith
Loyola’s Jonathan Partamian and Palos Verdes’ Peter Henkhaus and Rizal Smith.

For Palos Verdes, Jones and Sharp are joined this year by teammates Peter Henkhaus, a senior middie, and Rizal Smith, a senior attack/middie. All four will play in college next year, Jones at Georgetown, Sharp at Lafayette, Henkhaus at Marquette and Smith at Stevenson.

L.A. All-Americans: Philip Thompson and Zane Crandall
Two-time All-Americans Philip Thompson of Harvard Westlake and Zane Crandall of Mira Costa.

Two other seniors were named All-American for the second time: Midfielder Zane Crandall of Mira Costa and face-off specialist and middie Philip Thompson of Harvard Westlake. Crandall is bound for Lafayette, and Thompson will play at Princeton.

Jack Gibbons, a senior defender at Mira Costa, was named recipient of the chapter’s Bob Scott Award, given to a senior who “goes above and beyond in service to his team, school and community.”

Eight players received All-Academic recognition from the chapter, including two each from Mira Costa and Peninsula. Four of the Academic All-Americans are juniors.

The LA chapter also selected MaxLaxLA editor Jim Loftus as its Man of the Year.


“US Lacrosse All-Americans are the best players from their area. They exhibit superior skills and techniques, possess exceptional game sense and knowledge, and embody good sportsmanship.” — US Lacrosse

Zane Crandall, Midfield, Mira Costa
Peter Henkhaus, Midfield, Palos Verdes
Jarrett Jones, Defense, Palos Verdes
Jonathan Partamian, Midfield, Loyola (Junior)
Shane Sharp, Defense, Palos Verdes
Rizal Smith, A/M, Palos Verdes
Sean Smith, Attack, Loyola
Philip Thompson, Midfield, Harvard Westlake
Joe Theuer, Goalie, Loyola (Junior)

Academic All-Americans

“A US Lacrosse All-Academic Player is one who exhibits exemplary lacrosse skills, good sportsmanship on the field, and represents high standards of academic achievement in the classroom.” — US Lacrosse

Adam Enomoto, Defense, Mira Costa (Junior)
Nash Hale, Attack, Mira Costa
Cory Lund, Attack, El Segundo (Junior)
Luke McKenna, Midfield, Loyola (Junior)
Scott Phillips, LSM/Defense, Peninsula (Junior)
Jake Pistotnik, Midfield, Sierra Canyon
Koby Tseng, Attack, Peninsula
Aidan Westley, Attack, Palos Verdes

Bob Scott Award

“This player exemplifies the fundamentals of lacrosse, works hard to improve his game and is a leader both on and off the field.”
— US Lacrosse

Jack Gibbons, Defense, Mira Costa

Coach of the Year

Seth Cohen, Loyola

Assistant Coach of the Year

Brett Tietjen, Loyola

Man of the Year

Jim Loftus,