US Lacrosse Names Greater LA South All-Area Team

For the first time, the Greater LA Chapter of US Lacrosse has announced the selection of the Greater LA South All-Area First and Second Teams, and it should come as no surprise that Los Angeles tournament finalists Loyola and Palos Verdes dominated the list.

LA and Southern Section champion Loyola had eight players named to the all-area team, while LA runner-up Palos Verdes had seven. Mira Costa, with four, was the only other team with more than two players honored.

US Lacrosse said the team was selected based on input from coaches, though the team was limited to players in the southern half of the LA region to mirror the US Lacrosse All-American selection process. For purposes of these postseason awards, the LA and Ventura areas are separate, with each selecting its own set of honorees.

Notable on the list is that 12 of the 29 players are underclassmen, including three sophomores, and 19 of the 29 — including 14 seniors — are committed to playing lacrosse in college. (If we missed someone’s college lacrosse plans, please let us know:

Here is the complete list of players named to the Greater LA South All-Area team:

US Lacrosse Greater LA South All-Area Team

First Team
A – Sean Smith, senior, Loyola (Connecticut College)
A – Rizal Smith, senior, Palos Verdes (Stevenson)
A – Aidan Westley, senior, Palos Verdes (MIT)
A/M – Preston Faecher, senior, Redondo Union (Maryland)
A/M – Casey Bonner, junior, Mira Costa
M – Peter Henkhaus, senior, Palos Verdes (Marquette)
M – Jonathan Partamian, junior, Loyola (Syracuse)
M – Zane Crandall, senior, Mira Costa (Lafayette)
M – Ryder Mora, junior, Loyola (Maryland)
D – Shane Sharp, senior, Palos Verdes (Lafayette)
D – Nick Mohler, junior, Loyola (St. John’s)
D/LSM – Jarrett Jones, senior, Palos Verdes (Georgetown)
LSM – Scott Phillips, junior, Peninsula (Bryant)
FO – Phil Thompson, senior, Harvard Westlake (Princeton)
G – Joe Theuer, junior, Loyola

Second Team
A – Jack Doyle, senior, Crespi (Notre Dame, via Holy Cross Gateway Program)
A – Cory Lund, junior, El Segundo
A – Koby Tseng, senior, Peninsula (Amherst)
A – Paul Rodriguez, sophomore, Harvard Westlake
M – Mason O’Hanlon, junior, Loyola
M – Miles Rosberg, junior, Sierra Canyon
M/FO – Jake Pistotnik, senior, Sierra Canyon (California)
FO – Aidan Hesse, sophomore, Loyola
LSM – Tommy Riley, senior, Loyola
D – Jim Murphy, senior, St. Francis
D – Jack Gibbons, senior, Mira Costa
D – Kyle McBride, sophomore, Palos Verdes (St. John’s)
G – Connor Jongewaard, senior, Palos Verdes (Centre College)
G – John Van Sickle, senior, Mira Costa (Drexel)