The Throwdown Rundown

Over 50 boys’ lacrosse teams participated in the Tinseltown Throwdown at the Orange Great Park this past weekend.  The Great Park has emerged as one of Southern California’s top lacrosse venues, and this was the fourth major tournament to played at the GP this summer.

Arizona-based teams performed particularly well, winning championships in two of the six divisions while reaching the finals in a third division.  2025/26 was the lone Orange County team to ride the home field advantage to championship.

Elite: Team 19 Dethrones AZ Hot Sauce

The Elite championship game featured Team 19 against AZ Hot Sauce, the defending Elite champions.  Although both teams entered the championship game undefeated, Team 19 scored early and often en route to a 15-1 victory.   AHS entered the final game with an eight-game Throwdown win streak dating back to last year.  Despite local assistance from some Trabuco Hills Mustangs, AHS will have to wait until next year to begin a new winning streak.

High School: Desert Cats Top

The Desert Cats made the trip from Tucson worthwhile with a perfect 5-0 record and the High School Division championship.  The Desert Cats earned a spot in the championship game by running the table in pool play and allowing just six goals in four games.  They then made the most of their opportunity with a 10-6 win over the in the final.


2022: Tops Aces San Diego for 2022 Championship

The 2022 championship game pitted two undefeated San Diego based teams, and Aces San Diego, against one another. Both teams dominated pool play allowing just seven and nine goals, respectively. Team 12 got the upper hand in the championship game and went home with the ‘ship.

2023: AZ Hot Sauce is Too Hot to Handle

Arizona Hot Sauce had plenty to celebrate on the way back to Phoenix after defeating RC 7-4 in the 2023 championship game. AHS finished the weekend with a perfect 5-0 record and allowed only eight goals in the five games. RC was the only team able to muster more than two goals against the Hot Sauce defense.

RC Takes the 2024 Crown

San Diego-based RC Lacrosse defeated the LA Mavs to win the 2024 championship. RC was undefeated on the weekend and emerged at the top of a challenging field.

2025: Locks Down the Championship

SoCal Express’ stifling defense was the key to winning the 2025 championship. SCX allowed just nine goals in five games to win the ‘ship. Of the five teams SCX faced, only the NB were able to score more than one goals.

#Tinseltown18 champs! 2025/2026 with a strong finish this weekend in Irvine!

A post shared by So Cal Express Lacrosse (@socalexpresslc) on