Headlines Top Girls Lacrosse Post Season Awards

St.Margaret’s senior Cailin Young is the US Lacrosse Orange County Chapter Girls Lacrosse Player of the Year.  Young finished the year with 64 goals, 26 assists, 113 draw wins, 43 groundballs, and 18 takeaway for the Tartans, leading them to their first county and Southern Section championships since 2008. Young was also named an All-American and was one of four Tartans to be named to the All County First Team.

 was named the Coach of the Year. She started coaching the Tartans in 2014, and led the Tartans to an 18-1 record this season. The 18 wins are the most wins in team history.

Aliso Niguel senior  received the Jackie Pitts award. The Jackie Pitts Award recognizes Mason’s off-the-field accomplishments including her academic excellence and commitment to community service.  According to US Lacrosse, “This award recognizes a graduating senior in each chapter who truly honors the game of lacrosse, is invested in the development of the game in her community, is an exceptional player who continually strives to improve her game, and is an exemplary member of her team. She exemplifies the spirit of the game, on and off the field. Academically, she is an outstanding student and a valued role model in her school.”

The full list of US Lacrosse All Americans, All Academics and All County honorees is presented below:

Coach of the Year: Holly Reilly – St.Margaret’s

Player of the Year: Cailin Young – St.Margaret’s

Jackie Pitts:  – Aliso  Niguel

All American:

First Team All County

Second Team All County

  • Bridget Cain – San Juan Hills
  • – University
  • Juliet Mooney – Trabuco Hills
  • – Beckman
  • – Beckman
  • Gianna Danese – Mater Dei
  • – Newport Harbor
  • – St.Margaret’s
  • – Tesoro
  • Joslyn Simaan – Corona Del Mar
  • Caroline Farley – Newport Harbor
  • Taylor Wedlock – Aliso Niguel
  • – San Clemente
  • – Santa Margarita
  • Leah Olson – Tesoro

Third Team All County

Honorable Mention 

Recent Articles

Lane Jaffe returns to Palos Verdes as head coach

When teaches yoga, he preaches that there are only two controllables in life: effort and attitude. He applies those two principles to lacrosse,...

Loyola’s Alex Horowitz Commits to Bates

Loyola High School senior attackman Alex Horowitz has committed to study and play NCAA Division 3 lacrosse for Bates College in Lewiston, Maine. Horowitz will...

Woodbridge Girls Lacrosse seeks assistant coaches

Woodbridge High School Girls Lacrosse is looking for multiple assistant coaches to work with both our Varsity and JV athletes. We are looking for...

Los Alamitos Girls Lacrosse seeks assistant varsity coach

Coach Courtney Novak is looking for an assistant varsity coach to help her guide the Los Alamitos Varsity team for the Spring 2019-2020 season....

Borell hired as head coach at Loyola

Jimmy Borell has been hired as head coach at Loyola High School after a long tenure with Palos Verdes. In his most recent...

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox