Crespi’s Soelberg Named 2018 All-Mission League POY

Thirteen members of the league, Los Angeles and Southern Section champion Loyola Cubs were named to the 2018 All-Mission League team this week, but it was junior midfielder Logan Soelberg of fourth-place Crespi Carmelite who earned Player of the Year honors.

Soelberg, who is committed to Maryland, was a second-team all-league selection last year. This year he, was one of two Celts named all-league. Senior Matt Salerno earned a second-team nod as a face-off middie.

Loyola had 13 players named to the 26-player All-Mission League team, including eight of the 13 first-team slots. Also notable is that eight of the 13 Loyola players honored are underclassmen, including the entire back line of the Cubs’ defense — junior goalie Will Parducci and close defenders Will Kupiec, a junior, and Shane McAusland, a sophomore, on the first team and close defender Colin Hawkins, a junior, on the second team.

Harvard Westlake, which finished second by virtue of two narrow victories over Chaminade, placed seven players on the all-league list, while third-place Chaminade had three players honored.

2018 All-Mission League Team

Player of the Year: Logan Soelberg, junior middie, Crespi
First team
Henry Hasenberg     Attack          Loyola              Senior
Kaiser Fry          Attack          Loyola              Junior
Paul Rodriguez      Attack          Harvard Westlake    Senior
Mac Griffin         Midfield        Chaminade           Senior
Speed Fry           Midfield        Loyola              Junior
Logan Soelberg      Midfield        Crespi              Junior
Aidan Hesse         Face-off        Loyola              Senior
Donovan Econn       LSM             Harvard Westlake    Junior
Robert Henderson    DM/Specialty    Loyola              Senior
Will Kupiec         Defense         Loyola              Junior
Simon Pompan        Defense         Harvard Westlake    Senior
Shane McAusland     Defense         Loyola              Sophomore
Will Parducci       Goalie          Loyola              Junior

Second Team
Alex Horowitz       Attack          Loyola              Sophomore
Tommy Park          Attack          Harvard Westlake    Senior
Nico Rabushka       Attack          Chaminade           Sophomore
Wes Priestly        Midfield        Loyola              Senior
Owen Gaffney        Midfield        Loyola              Freshman
Asher Early         Midfield        Harvard Westlake    Junior
Matt Salerno        Face-off        Crespi              Senior
Pat Casani          LSM             Loyola              Senior
Sultan Daniels      DM/Specialty    Harvard Westlake    Junior
Jake Cloutier       Defense         Chaminade           Sophomore
Colin Hawkins       Defense         Loyola              Junior
Lex Torrington      Defense         Harvard Westlake    Senior
David Baker         Goalie          St. Francis         Sophomore