win Division at Shootout

The battled through five games decided by three goals or less to finish undefeated and win the 2018 Blue Division at the tournament over the weekend.

The Dragons went 3-0 in pool play Friday and Saturday, beating True Idaho 7-5, New Wave Lax Tesla 7-4 and Fellowship Lacrosse 5-3 to advance to the championship bracket. A 7-5 win over Brady’s Bunch pushed the Dragons into the title game, where they held off Team Amplify U17 Elite (Wisconsin) in a 6-5 OT thriller to take the crown.

Top row from left to right: Coach James Burton, Coach Riley Lasda, Coach Jason Foreit, Coach Peter Dante, , Adam Doyle, Evan LaTourette-Ghez, , Riley Olds, , Coach , Liam Mathers, Matt Moyer, Coach Mike Kutzer, Lucas Dante, Martin Avila, Coach Wade Winebrenner, and Coach .
Front row from left to right: Will Keller (6 Blue), Coach , Charlie Keller, , Adam Winfrey, Jack O’Rourke, , Sam Seidel, Aaron Willard and .

2018 also won its pool in the 2018 Blue Division, ripping through three games with a plus-23 goal differential. The Heat beat New Wave Ion 8-2, True Colorado Elite 2018 14-1 and Austin Elite 9-5 to advance to the championship bracket. There, however, they fell 9-4 to Team Amplify U17 Elite — the team Dragons beat for the title — in the semifinals and 7-6 to Brady’s Bunch in the third-place game.