Sophomore Owen Gaffney of four-time LA champion Loyola was named Player of the Year on the 2019 All-Area Boys Lacrosse team announced this week.

Sophomore Brad Sharp of Palos Verdes was named Offensive POY for the second year in a row, and senior Donovan Econn of Harvard Westlake was named Defensive Player of the Year. Harvard Westlake coach Erik Krum was named area Coach of the Year.

Gaffney, a first-team All-Mission League selection, was one of nine Loyola players among the 40 players named to the first-team, second-team and honorable mention lists. Five of those nine players are underclassmen due to return next season. LA runner-up Palos Verdes placed eight players among the 43 all-area selections, including six underclassmen.

In all, the 2019 All-Los Angeles Boys Lacrosse Team listed 14 underclassmen.

The 2019 list also had a number of repeat honorees, including junior Cole Garvey (Mira Costa), senior Logan Soelberg (Crespi) and senior Mitch Myers (St. John Bosco), who were named first-team all-area as both juniors and seniors.

Econn earned DPOY honors as a senior after earning a spot on the second team last season. Senior Will Kupiec (Loyola) and junior Shane McAusland (Loyola) both earned first-team honors this year after being named to the second team a season ago, as did senior Neil Randall of Palos Verdes.

Unlike past seasons, it appears players from the Marmonte, Coastal Canyon, Foothill and Channel leagues were not included in the selections. Last year, 10 players from those leagues were among the 41 players named All-Area. Ten teams from those leagues were ranked in the Top 25 in the final MaxLaxLA Coaches Poll on April 28, seven of those 10 earned spots in the 16-team championship tournament, and one — Oaks Christian — reached the semifinals.

This year, it appears the postseason honors list — called the “All-Los Angeles” team on the list provided to MaxLax — is made of players from the Mission, Bay, Gold Coast, Ocean and City leagues, along with players from teams who are not aligned with a league.

2019 All-Los Angeles Boys Lacrosse Team

Player of the Year: Owen Gaffney, sophomore, Loyola
Offensive POY: Brad Sharp, sophomore, Palos Verdes
Defensive POY: Donovan Econn, senior, Harvard Westlake
Coach of the Year: Erik Krum, Harvard Westlake
First Team				
Pos    Name               Grade   School
A      Alex Horowitz       JR     Loyola
A      Luc Charbonnier     JR     Palos Verdes
A/M    Mac MacLean         SR     Sierra Canyon
A      Asher Early         SR     Harvard Westlake
M      Jack O'Rourke       SR     Palisades
M      Birk Swan           SO     Palos Verdes
M      Harrison Listen     SR     Harvard Westlake
M      Logan Soelberg      SR     Crespi
FO     Mitch Myers         SR     St. John Bosco
SSDM   Sultan Daniels      SR     Harvard Westlake
LSM    Preston Barnes      SO     Loyola
D      Shane McAusland     JR     Loyola
D      Neil Randall        SR     Palos Verdes
D      Cole Garvey         JR     Mira Costa
D      Will Kupiec         SR     Loyola
G      Kyle McCann         SR     Palos Verdes

Second Team				
Pos    Name               Grade   School
A      Jack Carolan        SR     Loyola
A      Kyler Konjoyan      SR     Village Christian
A      Lucas Menendez      JR     Mira Costa
A/M    Matt Garvey         JR     Loyola
M      Michael Nagy        SO     Palos Verdes
M      Owen Larson         SR     Chaminade
M      Luke Steinfield     SR     Brentwood
M      Max Cha             SR     Peninsula
FO     Cole Clinton        JR     Palos Verdes
SSDM   Hunter Ballard      SR     Loyola
LSM    Archawin Nimanong   SR     Glendale
D      Colin Hawkins       SR     Loyola
D      Jake Cloutier       JR     Chaminade
D      Brandon Clark       SR     Palos Verdes
G      David Baker         JR     St. Francis
G      Eli Turovsky        SR     Sierra Canyon

Honorable Mention				
Pos    Name               Grade   School
A      Thomas Wilcox       SR     Culver City
A      Miles Dolphin       SR     St. John Bosco
A      Anthony Novo        SR     Culver City
A      Lukas Roscoe        SR     El Segundo
A      Joseph Kean         SR     Santa Monica
FO     Cooper Endicott     SR     Sierra Canyon
FO     Ian Han             SO     Harvard Westlake
G      Kenji Mushani       SR     Redondo Union

2018 All-Los Angeles Boys Lacrosse Team


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here