Newton and Shean headline Sunset League boys lacrosse awards


Riley Chester of St. Margaret’s Commits to Monmouth

Chester finished his junior year with 33 goals and 17 assists.

Julian Jenkins of Los Alamitos commits to Holy Cross

Jenkins was an All Sunset League First Teamer team and Griffins captain this past spring.

St. Margaret’s Hires Megan Armes as girls lacrosse coach

St. Margaret's Episcopal School recently announced the hiring of...

West Genesee More Than Just a Lacrosse Drill

It was 1984, and Syracuse freshman and starting midfielder...


Corona Del Mar junior standout Lucas Newton and Los Alamitos senior standout Ed Shean have both been named the Sunset League’s co-player of the year in boys lacrosse Newton helped lead the Sea Kings to their first-ever Sunset League championship while Shean helped lead the Griffins to a second place finish.

CdM coach G.W. Mix took home the league’s coach of the year for for guiding his team to a perfect 5-0 record in league play. In addition to winning the league title, Mix helped the Sea Kings advance to the CIF-SS Division 1 semifinal where the lost to eventual champion Loyola.

Jake Black of Los Alamitos, Alex Chanawatr of CdM and Charlie Durante of Newport Harbor were named the league’s scholar athletes not only for their excellence on the field, but their excellence in the classroom.

The 2021 All Sunset League boys lacrosse teams are presented down below.

League Co-Player of the Year: Lucas Newton, CdM, Ed Shean, Los Alamitos

League Coach of the Year: G.W. Mix

Scholar Athletes: Jake Black – Los Alamitos, Alex Chanawatr – CdM, Charlie Durante – Newport Harbor

All-League teams (player, school, position, class):

1st team: Luke Barnes, Newport Harbor, attack, senior; Ty Caffarelli, CdM, attack, junior; Ed Shean, Los Alamitos, attack, senior; Drew Anderson, Los Alamitos, midfield, junior; Logan Ip, CdM, midifeld, junior; Lucas Newton, CdM, midfield, junior; Luke Glowacki, Los Alamitos, midfield, junior; Alex Chanawatr, CdM, defense, junior; Chase Habermehl, CdM, defense, junior; Julian Jenkins, Los Alamitos, defense, junior; Grant Giuliano, CdM, goalie, sophomore; Tucker Jackson, CdM, LSM, junior; Scott Westrick, CdM, SS D-Mid, sophomore; Mason Williams, Newport Harbor, face-off, senior

2nd team: Ben Booth, Edison, attack, junior; Judah Ferrari Cortez, Huntington Beach, attack, junior; Shawn Frome, CdM, attack, senior; Sean Park, Los Alamitos, attack, senior; Gavin Gossen, CdM, midfield, sophomore; Lucas Partch, Huntington Beach, midfield, junior; Will Patterson, Newport Harbor, midfield, senior; Trevor Tripp, Edison, midfield, senior; Tyler Brown, CdM, defense, junior; Bryce McBeth, Newport Harbor, defense, senior; Jackson Miller, Edison, defense, junior; Shane Smitson, Los Alamitos, defense, senior; Trevor Partlow, Los Alamitos, goalie, senior; Jerome Snyder, Newport Harbor, goalie, senior; Troy Kennedy, Newport Harbor, LSM, senior; Aden Stein, CdM, SS D-Mid, junior; Andrew Brown, Newport Harbor, SS D-mid, senior

Honorable mention: Connor Engel, Los Alamitos, attack sophomore; Vince Hugee, Marina, attack, junior; Nic Peloso, CdM, attack, junior; Oliver Ayala, CdM, midfield, sophomore; Jake Fuentes, CdM, midifield, senior; Jack Beyerle, CdM, defense, senior; Grant Emfinger, Los Alamitos, defense, senior; Dylan Waunch, Newport Harbor, defense, junior; Jack Carson, Marina, goalie, junior; Brian Vu, Edison goalie, junior; Mac Fait, Edison, face-off, junior; Jonathan Chaix, Newport Harbor, LSM, sophomore