Dana Hills Duo Earn First Team All American Honors

Dana Hills alums Chase Matranga (Concordia) and Marc Hughes lead a long list of MCLA Division 2 All Americans with connections to Orange County.  Matranga and Hughes, the only First Team All Americans in the group, lead Concordia to an undefeated season and the Southwest Lacrosse Conference championship.  Introductions to the All Americans with Orange County connections are presented below followed by the full listing of MCLA Division 2 All Americans.

Chase Matranga (Concordia) – A product of Dana Hills High School, the three-time All Conference selection scored 26 goals and dished out 28 assists this season.

Marc Hughes (Concordia)– Another former Dana Hills Dolphin, Hughes picked up 54 ground balls this season to go along with 9 goals and 9 assists.

Dillon Bernad (Concordia)– Last year he was a Third Team All American and First Team All Conference selection. This year, the Great Oak alumnus scored 44 goals and had 45 assists.

Alex Kowalski (Fullerton) – A former Huntington Beach Oiler, and a 2x time First Team All Conference and Player of the Year selection, Kowalski scored 33 goals and had 14 assists this season.

Jake Pense (Concordia)– A 2015 All Freshman honoree, Jake picked up 36 ground balls this season. Pense played high school lacrosse at De La Salle High School.

Max Sattosky (Concordia)– The former San Clemente Triton scored 67 goals and had 15 assists this season.

Matthew Marano (Foothill)– Marano, who played defense at Foothill High School, scored 52 goals and had 14 assists this season to go along with 94 ground balls as a midfielder for UC Irvine.

Winston Robinson (Concordia) – The St. Margaret’s Alumni picked up 40 groundballs this season, scored a goal and had an assist.

Micah Willis (Fullerton)– The former HB Oiler and 2015 Freshman of the Year had a solid sophomore campaign, scoring 32 goals and dishing out 39 assists.

Weston Gotuzzo (Portland State)– Gotuzzo scored 35 goals and had 25 assists this season en route to his First Team All Conference selection. Gotuzzo graduated from Great Oak High School.

Robert Romero (Concordia)– Romero scored 25 goals and had 16 assists this season. Romero is a graduate of Mission Viejo High School.

Tilghman Tuebner (Northern Arizona) – The former Servite Friar picked up 112 groundballs this season, scored 5 goals and had 1 assist.

Chris Laurino (Fullerton)– The El Toro High School alumni saved 106 shots this season while allowing only 59 goals for a save percentage of 64.2%.

First Team All-American
A – Dan Casselli, Grove City
A – Sean Hickey, St. Thomas
A – Tyler Matthews, Kennesaw State
A – Kevin Sturgeon, North Dakota State
A – Erick Sundstrom, Grand Valley State
M – Simon Gondeck, St. Thomas
M – David Hall, Grove City
M – Seth Kuehnl, Grand Valley State
M – Chase Matranga, Concordia-Irvine Dana Hills
LSM – Pat Mines, St. Thomas
FO – Scotty Brown, Palm Beach Atlantic
FO – Erik Thysse, St. Thomas
SSDM – Marc Hughes, Concordia-Irvine
D – Josh Abruzzo, Siena Heights
D – Alex Bement, St. Thomas
D – Trey Koons, Kennesaw State
D – Evan Schraut, North Dakota State
D – Peter Treppa, Grand Valley State
G – Parker Fairey, Montana State

Second Team All-American
A – Dillon Bernad, Concordia-Irvine Great Oak
A – Cody Clark, Kennesaw State
A – Louis Richman, Montana State
A – Dalton Vowles, Lourdes
M – Ryan Heid, North Dakota State
M – Alex Kowalski, Cal State Fullerton Huntington Beach
M – Logan Lindberg, Minn.-Duluth
M – Greg Swanson, Palm Beach Atlantic
LSM – Tyler Quinn, Grand Valley State
LSM – Jack Witt, Sierra Nevada
FO – Steve Hogan, Bridgewater State
SSDM – Forrest Lambert, Metro State
SSDM – Jeremy Matelan, Dayton
D – Samuel Harris, Minn.-Duluth
D – Cody Johnson, St. John’s
D – Jake Pense, Concordia-Irvine
D – Ben Ryan-Lorei, Dayton
G – Connor Hanson, Kennesaw State

Third Team All-American
A – Brooks Armitage, St. John’s
A – Jacob Heppner, Minn.-Duluth
A – Max Satossky, Concordia-Irvine 
A – Edward Thorne, Kennesaw State
M – Matthew Marano, UC Irvine
M – Ryan McNeil, St. Thomas
M – Dan Orr, Siena Heights
M – Jack Pugh, Montana State
M – Dange Wolf, Western Oregon
LSM – Kevin Bowditch, Minn.-Duluth
FO – Frank Badalamenti, Lawrence Tech
SSDM – Isaac Hazen, Grand Valley State
D – Matt Hennis, Sierra Nevada
D – Brian Lindback, Florida Gulf Coast
D – Winston Robinson, Concordia-Irvine
D – Joey Seiler, Grand Valley State
G – Ross Sattler, Dayton

Honorable Mention All-American
A – Dan Brischel, Lourdes
A – Ryan Brouwer, New Haven
A – Logan Bruss, Metro State
A – Dan Burke, St. Thomas
A – Jace Childs, Indiana Tech
A – Andrew DaSilva, Bridgewater State
A – Nick Guzzetti, College of Idaho
A – Aidan Kennedy, San Diego
A – Mike Kukulski, North Dakota State
A – Jeff Mathis, Reinhardt
A – Max Segal, Fort Lewis
A – Cody Trella, Lindenwood-Belleville
A – Tyler Violano, Southern Conn. State
A – Micah Willis, Cal State Fullerton
A – Jared Yoshino, Lourdes
A – Nic Zvirzin, Sierra Nevada
M – Ryan Barnes, Missouri Valley
M – Zack Crawford, Grand Valley State
M – Austin Dahl, Missouri Baptist
M – Frank Estrada, Bridgeport
M – Dylon Fangmeier, Sierra Nevada
M – Joe Finnell, Western Washington
M – Ryan Floress, The Citadel
M – Dylan Gill, Lourdes
M – Weston Gotuzzo, Portland State
M – Bryce Hummel, Biola
M – Alec Larson, North Dakota State
M – Jack Lyden, MSU-Mankato
M – Dan Mollet, Missouri Baptist
M – David Rizzolo, Montana State
M – Robert Romero, Concordia-Irvine Mission Viejo
LSM – Taylor Harrison, Southern Oregon
LSM – Jarred McCombers, St. John’s
LSM – Dylan Perry, Stonehill
LSM – Tilghman Tuebner, Northern Arizona Servite
FO – Iain Holman, CSU San Marcos
FO – Tony Shear, MSU-Mankato
FO – Grant Sufferling, Reinhardt
FO – Mark Ward, Siena Heights
SSDM – Camden Baggs, Palm Beach Atlantic
SSDM – Sam Benecke, The Citadel
SSDM – Brendan Gallagher, Missouri Valley
SSDM – Kurt Pohs, Portland
D – Robert Bass, San Francisco
D – Anthony Curra, Palm Beach Atlantic
D – Nick Davis, Montana State
D – John DeFrank, Kennesaw State
D – Ryan De Leon, UC San Diego
D – Tyler Farr, MSU-Mankato
D – Blake Greener, Montana State
D – Andrew Legg, Missouri Valley
G – Robby Ates, Missouri Baptist
G – Austin Farina, Sierra Nevada
G – Connor Kelley, Southern Oregon
G – Chris Laurino, Cal State Fullerton
G – Joe Marmion, Bridgewater State
G – Ryan Nelson, St. John’s
G – Kyrn Stoddard, Grand Valley State