After Strong Summer, Mad Dog West Preps for Fall

Coming off a summer in which its 2021 squad finished third at the World Series of Youth Lacrosse, Mad Dog West is gearing up for fall with an expanded program that includes teams for the classes of 2022, 2023 and 2024.

Mad Dog West is run by former Johns Hopkins player Tommy Duerr, along with coaches Kyle Smedley (Towson/MLL Denver Outlaws), and Brendan Fowler (Duke/MLL Charlotte Hounds). The elite club is made up of top players from San Diego, Orange County and Los Angeles.

Tryouts for the Mad Dog West fall programs will be held Sunday, Sept. 18, at San Gorgonia Park in San Clemente. Information and registration links are available here.

The Mad Dog West 2021 team plans to shift its focus more toward top recruiting events and showcases after its showing last summer at the Warrior World Series of Youth Lacrosse. Mad Dog won the Western qualifying tournament in April — then won the Denver Shootout and Vail Tournament — and entered the World Series as the top seed in its bracket.

Mad Dog West went undefeated in bracket play, defeating 3d Mid Atlantic, Team Israel, Team Igloo Black Ice, Leading Edge Elite and Lax Factory. In the first round of the playoffs, Mad Dog knocked out team Bethesda out of Maryland to improve to 6-0 in the event and set up a semifinal rematch with Team Igloo Black Ice.

“The semifinals had three Long Island teams and one team with bunch of scrappy California kids!” Duerr said. “Truly making a statement for the West Coast.”

Mad Dog West led 5-3 heading into the fourth quarter, but Team Igloo pulled away in the last five minutes for a 7-5 victory.

“It was a battle, but it is always difficult to beat a talented team twice,” Duerr said.

2021 Mad Dog West Roster

Marco Notarainni SD Team Captain
Tynan Walsh      SD Team Captain
Brody Listen     LA Team Captain		
Cooper Barkate   OC	
Preston Barnes   LA	
Tyler Blackburn  SD	
Tyler Buchner    SD	
Grif Crawford    SD	
Gage Dado        LA	
Griffin Dooley   SD	
Dewey Egan       SD	
Dominic Friedly  SD	
Grant Glasgow    SD	
Griffin Grant    SD	
Christian LeRose SD	
Mitch Likins     SD	
TJ Likins        SD	
Evan Miner       LA	
Nick Parise      SD	
Jack Rogers      OC	
Nate Sanchez     OC	
Slater Simo      SD	
Joe Tatum        LA	
Chase Waldal     SD	

Information submitted by Mad Dog Lacrosse.