Lund, Quashnick, Overton Head All-Ocean Selections

Junior attack was named Ocean League Most Valuable Player, while senior teammate was selected the league’s Offensive Player of the Year, and senior was named Defensive Player of the Year. The three highlight the 2016 All-Ocean League team announced Tuesday.

Lund, who was Offensive Player of the Year as a sophomore last year, and Overton are among 13 repeat honorees of the 25 players on the All-Ocean League team this year. Six of those players are making a third appearance on the team.

For , Overton, senior attack Peter Pina and senior goalie Cole Thompson are three-time all-league selections. juniors Parker Furlong, an attackman, and Bradley Hall, an LSM, also were named for the third time, as was senior defender Spencer Farina.

, which won the Ocean League for the second year in a row, had nine players honored, while runner-up Culver City had seven and had five. and each had two selections.

Santa Monica coach Ben Keiser was named the league’s Coach of the Year. Under his direction the Vikings have improved from 3-8 in 2014 to 7-9 last year and 10-8 this season. Down the stretch of the league season, SaMo lost to Culver City 9-8 and 15-14 in back-to-back games.

2016 All-Ocean League Team

Most Valuable Player: , junior, El Segundo (second selection)
Offensive Player of the Year: , senior, El Segundo
Devensive Player of the Year: , senior, Culver City (third selection)
Coach of the Year: Ben Keiser, Santa Monica

First Team
A – Peter Pina, senior, Culver City (third selection)
A – Parker Furlong, junior, Santa Monica (third selection)
M – Daniel Ball, junior, El Segundo (second selection)
M – Rory Cochrane, junior, El Segundo (second selection)
M – Griffin James, sophomore, Santa Monica (second selection)
M – Zach Antin, senior,
M – Pablo Alvarez, junior, Downey
LSM – Bradley Hall, junior, Santa Monica (third selection)
D – Drew Bonney, senior, El Segundo
D – Elijah Zavala, junior, Culver City (second selection)
G – Cole Thompson, senior, Culver City (third selection)

Second Team
A – Kyle Kennedy, junior, Santa Monica (second selection)
A – Kyle Khalili, senior, Beverly Hills
M – Tyler Higgins, junior, Culver City
M – Collin Ferrara, junior, Santa Monica
LSM – Tim Schartz, sophomore, El Segundo
LSM – John Lewis, junior, Culver City
D – Cayman Barber, junior, El Segundo (second selection)
D – Kai Bucher, senior, El Segundo
D – Nikki Jimenez, sophomore, Culver City
D – Spencer Farina, senior, Downey (third selection)
G – Alex Nolan, junior, El Segundo


Lax Calendar

Recent Articles

Tesoro boys’ lacrosse seeks JV head coach

Las Flores, CA - Tesoro High School Boys Lacrosse seeks a head coach for their JV team. Applicants should email Varsity Head Coach Scott...

Torrey Pines Goes for 3-Peat with 10 D1 Commits

Torrey Pines will begin their quest for a third consecutive CIF San Diego Section Open Championship and Top 20 National ranking with nine seniors and one junior committed to NCAA Division 1 programs.

Long Island Sting Expands West

Sting Pacific, which will play exclusively in tournaments hosted in the Western United States

Bobby Gavin Commits to UVA

Torrey Pines senior and Laguna Beach native is headed to UVA.

Philo Biane becomes Damien’s first NCAA lacrosse commit

The Damien midfielder will study and play college lacrosse at Elmhurst.

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox