Los Angeles Box Lacrosse League Champions

The Los Angeles Cobras put an exclamation point on a succesful 2014 box lacrosse season by laying claim to three championships in the Los Angeles Box League playoffs this weekend at Wilson Park in Torrance. The Cobras swept through the U15, Junior Varsity, and Varsity playoff brackets to earn their Triple Crown. Leverage Lacrosse and Prolific broke the Cobras streak by winning the U13 and U11 divisions, respectively.

U15 Cobras. Undefeated Champions

In the marquee matchup of the weekend, the Varsity Cobras set the tone early against Leverage and never relented. Phillip Thompson won the opening faceoff for the Cobras, stormed through the defense, and found the back of the net to ignite a first period barrage that put the Cobras up 6-0 at the first intermission.  Leverage opened the second period scoring, but the Cobras responded with the next five to put the game out of hadn. The potent Cobras offense was complemented by a staunch team defense that created turnovers and forced Leverage to settle for long range shots. Leverage got into a groove late in the game to close the gap with the final four goals of the game, but it was too little too late as the final horn sounded with the Cobras ahead 12-6.

Thompson finished the night with two goals to lead a balanced offense.  Other scorers included Cory Lund, Sean Smith, John Parducci , Harriso Mac, Michael Lira, Michael O’Hanlon, Nick Mohler, and Garrett Smith.  Eighth grader Cam Biehler put in an MVP performance between the pipes while playing up for the Varsity Cobras.


Leverage Lacrosse: U13 Champions
Leverage Lacrosse: U13 Champions


Prolific: U11 Champions


Recent Headlines