Loyola’s Hesse Named POY on 2018 LA All-Area Team

Senior face-off midfielder Aidan Hesse of three-time US Lacrosse Los Angeles-area and Southern Section champion Loyola was named Player of the Year on the 2018 LA All-Area Team, the US Lacrosse LA chapter announced Monday.

Junior goalie Will Parducci of Loyola was named Defensive POY, and freshman attack Bradley Sharp of Palos Verdes was named Offensive POY.

Hesse and Parducci were among nine Loyola players named to the 41-player 2018 All-Area Team. Juniors Speed Fry and Kaiser Fry were first-team selections, while senior attack Henry Hasenberg, junior defender Will Kupiec and sophomore defender Shane McAusland were named to the second team. Seniors Wes Priestly and Pat Casani were named honorable mention.

LA runner-up Palos Verdes placed eight players on the list, with junior goalie Kyle McCann, senior defender Kyle McBride and senior middie Beau Sabosky on the first team.

Nineteen underclassmen were honored among the 41 players selected, including one freshman and three sophomores. In addition to the freshman Sharp and sophomore McAusland, sophomores Cole Garvey (Mira Costa) and Douglas McCarthy (Agoura) also made the list.

Nearly all selections to the 2018 LA All-Area Team also were named to their respective all-league teams: All-Mission League, All-Bay League, All-Marmonte League, All-Gold Coast League.

2018 LA All-Area Team

Player of the Year: Aidan Hesse, Loyola, senior, face-off middie
Offensive POY: Brad Sharp, Palos Verdes, freshman, attack
Defensive POY: Will Parducci, Loyola, junior, goalie

First Team
Goalie          Zach Tripp        2019    Agoura
Goalie          Kyle McCann       2019    Palos Verdes
Defense         Cole Garvey       2020    Mira Costa
Defense         Kyle McBride      2018    Palos Verdes
Defense/LSM     Cooper Issacs     2018    Agoura
Midfield        Logan Soelberg    2019    Crespi
Midfield        Speed Fry         2019    Loyola
Midfield        Beau Sabosky      2018    Palos Verdes
Midfield        Kyler Konjoyan    2019    Village Christian
Middie/FO       Mitch Myers       2019    St. John Bosco
Attack          Paul Rodriguez    2018    Harvard Westlake
Attack          Kaiser Fry        2019    Loyola
Attack          Tyler Bradbury    2019    Oak Park
Attack          Nick Reilly       2019    Westlake

Second Team
Goalie  	Trevor Clark      2018    Sierra Canyon
Defense 	Will Kupiec       2019    Loyola
Defense 	Shane McAusland   2020    Loyola
Defense/LSM	Donovan Econn     2019    Harvard Westlake
Defense/LSM	Neil Randall      2019    Palos Verdes
Defense 	Hart Swan         2018    Palos Verdes
Midfield	Mac Griffin       2018    Chaminade
Midfield	Owen Larson       2019    Chaminade
Midfield	Jake Nolls        2018    Palos verdes
Midfield	Griffin Rodas     2018    Village Christian
Middie/FO	Colin Fitt        2018    Palos Verdes
Attack  	Henry Hasenberg   2018    Loyola
Attack  	Cort Rogers       2018    Oaks Christian
Attack  	Macchio Rissone   2018    Palisades
Attack  	Doug McCarthy     2020    Agoura

Honorable Mention
Attack          Duke Cohen        2018    Westlake
Defense         Sebastian Bernt   2019    Agoura
Defense/LSM     Pat Casani        2018    Loyola
Midfield        Weston Priestly   2018    Loyola
Attack          Zach Horowitz     2018    Mira Costa
Midfield        JT Shoop          2019    Newbury Park
Midfield        Matt Chopp        2018    Sierra Canyon
Attack          Mac Maclean       2019    Sierra Canyon
Attack          Nick Riggio       2018    Thousand Oaks