Hannah Upshaw, Foothill Girls Lacrosse, class of 2016

Foothill senior goalie was named the 2016 Girls’ Lacrosse Player of the Year by the US Lacrosse Orange County Chapter. Upshaw made 196 saves (60% save percentage) to lead the Knights to the Orange County championship game. Cressita Bowman was named Coach of the Year for leading the Mater Dei Monarchs to an undefeated season, the Southern Section Championship, and the No. 3 ranking in the West. Newport Harbor senior received the Jackie Pitts Award, which “recognizes a graduating senior in each chapter who truly honors the game of lacrosse, is invested in the development of the game in her community, is an exceptional player who continually strives to improve her game, and is an exemplary member of her team. She exemplifies the spirit of the game, on and off the field. Academically, she is an outstanding student and a valued role model in her school.” The full list of award winners, All Americans, All Academics and All County honorees is presented below. All will be honored at a banquet on Wednesday June 8 at the Bell Tower in Rancho Santa Margarita.

All American
Attack – – San Juan Hills
Midfield – – Mater Dei
Midfield – – St. Margaret’s
Midfield – – Foothill
Midfield – – Mater Dei
Goalie – Hannah Upshaw – Foothill

Player of the Year: Hannah Upshaw – Foothill

Coach of the Year: Cressita Bowman – Mater Dei – CIF Champion Coach – Southern Section Champion Coach

Jackie Pitts Award: 
Rylie Siegfried – Newport Harbor

All Academic
– Santa Margarita Catholic
– Foothill
Emily Coffee – Foothill
Elena Guillen – San Juan Hills
Ashlyn Wang – University HS
Katie McCabe – Corona Del Mar

1st Team All County
Attack – Journey Fischbeck – San Juan Hills
Attack – Noelani Murayama – St. Margaret’s
Midfield – Meridian Lee – Foothill
Midfield – Grace Houser – Mater Dei
Midfield – Mackenzie Wallevand – Mater Dei
Midfield – Cameron Manor – St. Margaret’s
Midfield – – Corona Del Mar
Midfield – Erin DiBernardo – Santa Margarita Catholic
Midfield – Rylie Siegfried – Newport Harbor
Defense – – Newport Harbor
Defense – Katherine Mulvaney – Corona Del Mar
Goalie – Hannah Upshaw – Foothill

2nd Team All County
Attack – Lauren Gonzales – Mater Dei
Attack – Janice Shih – Beckman
Midfield – Brie Ratkevich – Foothill
Midfield – – Corona Del Mar
Midfield – – Trabuco Hills
Midfield – – Woodbridge
Midfield – Mia Roth – Laguna Hills
Midfield – Katelin Martinez – Tesoro
Defense – Melanie Traylor – Laguna Hills
Defense – – Mater Dei
Defense – Daisy Haas – Los Alamitos
Goalie – Ashley Olson – Corona Del Mar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here