Handy Leads OC Domination of All Selections

Arizona State Senior Zack Handy (Foothill High School) was named the Southwestern  Lacrosse Conference Defensive Division 1 Player of the Year for the second consecutive year to lead a plethora of Orange County products who earned All honors this year.  Handy was also named the All SLC First Team faceoff specialist for the third year in a row.  Handy finished the season with 10 points, a 70% win percentage at the X, and 167 groudballs.

Other Orange County products earning Division 1 All SLC honors were:

Chapman senior  Steve Koressel was named First Team attack. Koressel, a team captain, led the with 4.1 points per game (40 g, 42 a).  He still has a year of eligibility remaining.

ASU senior Cooper Pickell (Foothill) was named First Team midfield.  Pickell led the with 3.9 goals per game on 35 goals and 31 assists.

San Diego State senior captain Kevin Hoover (San Juan Hills) was named First Team midfield. Hoover finished the season with 40 goals and 21 assists.

junior Tanner Knego(Tesoro) was named the First Team goalie.  Knego recorded 13.7 saves per game with a save percentage 0.68. 

Grand Canyon Brandon Suchand (St. Margaret’s) was named the Second Team goalie. Suchand recorded 13 saves per game with a save percentage 0.622.