Gilbertson, McCann Again Top All-Bay League Team

Palos Verdes seniors Stanny Gilbertson and D McCann earned top honors in the Bay League for the second consecutive year after leading the Sea Kings to their second consecutive L.A. championship.

Gilbertson was named Player of the Year and McCann Defensive MVP, honors they each received last season, as well. Joining them atop the All-Bay League team was Peninsula senior Colton Michel, who was named Offensive MVP.

Colton Michel, Peninsula
Senior Colton Michel of Peninsula was named Bay League Offensive MVP.

In all, Palos Verdes (17-6, 5-1) had 12 players honored, including its entire starting defense: Goalie McCann, close defenders Shane Sharp and Graham Walker, and LSM Jarrett Jones on the first team; and close defender Connor Markley and short-stick defensive middie Steve Delcarson on the second team. Faceoff specialist Zack Lozzi also was listed on the second team.

Co-champion Peninsula (16-3, 5-1) had four players honored in addition to Michel, including junior A/M Koby Tseng, senior middie Brandon Wilson and senior goalie Lance Plonski on the first team. Sophomore LSM Scott Phillips made the second team.

Koby Tseng, Peninsula
Junior A/M Koby Tseng was one of five Peninsula players named All-Bay League.

Notable among the 25 players receiving recognition is that 13 of them are underclassmen, including seven juniors on the first team. Additionally, three sophomores earned second-team mention, including attack Austin Lowi of Palos Verdes, midfielder Casey Bonner of Mira Costa and Peninsula LSM Phillips.

Additionally, 14 of the 25 players honored also were named to last year’s All-Bay League team.

Here is the complete 2015 All-Bay League team:

Player of the Year: Stanny Gilbertson, senior, Palos Verdes
Offensive MVP: Colton Michel, senior, Peninsula
Defensive MVP: D McCann, senior, Palos Verdes
Coach of the Year: Lane Jaffe, Peninsula

Zane Crandall, Mira Costa
Mira Costa junior Zane Crandall earned first-team honors. He was second-team last year.

First Team
Josh Williamson, senior, Redondo Union
Preston Faecher, junior, Redondo Union
Aidan Westley, junior, Palos Verdes
Koby Tseng (A/M), junior, Peninsula
Zane Crandall, junior, Mira Costa
Rizal Smith, junior, Palos Verdes
Nick Coons, senior, Mira Costa
Brandon Wilson, senior, Peninsula
Jarrett Jones, junior, Palos Verdes
Shane Sharp, junior, Palos Verdes
Graham Walker, senior, Palos Verdes
Lance Plonski, senior, Peninsula

Second Team
Sam Dunbar, senior, Mira Costa
Austin Lowi, sophomore, Palos Verdes
Casey Bonner, sophomore, Mira Costa
Mikey Booth, junior, Palos Verdes
Steve Delcarson, senior, Palos Verdes
Zack Lozzi (FOGO), senior, Palos Verdes
Scott Phillips (LSM), sophomore, Peninsula
Connor Markley, senior, Palos Verdes
Jack Gibbons, junior, Mira Costa
John Van Sickle, junior, Mira Costa


Recent Headlines