All-Marmonte League: Will Dutton, Thousand Oaks; Marty Shargel, Agoura

Senior midfielders of league-champion Thousand Oaks and of Agoura were named league co-Most Valuable Players on the All- team released Monday by the league’s coaches.

Dutton was a first-team All-Marmonte League selection as a short-stick defensive midfielder last season. This season he helped the Lancers to a 12-7 overall record (7-3 in league play) and a playoff berth. He will play next season at NCAA Division II Westminster College in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Shargel, also a first-team All-Marmonte selection as a junior, averaged more than three goals per game this season in leading Agoura to a 15-6 overall record and a No. 4 seed in the US Lacrosse playoffs. The Chargers reached the LA semifinals, where they lost Saturday to No. 1 Palos Verdes. Shargel plans to play next year at Onondaga CC in New York.

Head coach Michael Delabar of Thousand Oaks was named Marmonte League Coach of the Year.

Along with Dutton, Thousand Oaks placed four other players on the All-Marmonte team, including repeat honorees , the league’s top face-off specialist once again, and , a second-team selection at midfield last year. Both Parham and Asbury also were named second-team All-Marmonte in 2015.

Senior defender and junior LSM were among five other Agoura players joining Shargel on the list. Both made the first team this year. Dankenbring was a first-team selection last year, while Isaacs made the second team as a sophomore.

Eight members of the Lions were named to the all-league teams, led by repeat first-team honoree , a junior attack. First-team selection , a senior middie, was a second-team pick last year.

Westlake junior attack was named first-team All-Marmonte for the second year in a row, and Warriors senior goalie was named all-league for the third time, adding a first-team selection to two previous second-team honors.

had four players honored, including senior defensive middie on the first team and senior attack Robbie McInerney and senior defender each earning second-team honors for the second year in a row.

2017 All-Marmonte League

Co-Most Valuable Players
Will Dutton, Thousand Oaks, Senior
Marty Shargel, Agoura, Senior

Coach of the Year
Mike Delabar, Thousand Oaks

First Team
Spencer Whinery, Thousand Oaks, Junior
Cort Rogers, Oaks Christian, Junior
Duke Cohen, Westlake, Junior

Nick Riggio, Thousand Oaks, Junior
Zac Asbury, Thousand Oaks, Senior
Danny Redell, Oaks Christian, Senior

Matt Parham, Thousand Oaks, Junior

Short-stick DM
Andrew Noble, Newbury Park, Senior

Long-stick DM
Cooper Isaacs, Agoura, Junior

Taylor Dankenbring, Agoura, Senior
Connor MacLeod, Oaks Christian, Senior
, Oaks Christian, Junior

Matt Kilkeary, Westlake, Senior

Second Team
, Newbury Park, Senior
Robbie McInerney, Newbury Park, Senior
, Oaks Christian, Senior

, Oaks Christian, Sophomore
, Newbury Park, Junior
, Westlake, Freshman

Spencer Foreman, Agoura, Junior

Short-stick DM
, Oaks Christian, Sophomore

Long-stick DM
Connor Kuhl, Westlake, Junior

, Agoura, Sophomore
, Oaks Christian, Junior
Anderson Hill, Newbury Park, Senior

, Agoura, Sophomore

Honorable Mention
Drew Conlon, Attack, Thousand Oaks, Junior
Luke Smiley, Defense, Thousand Oaks, Freshman
Douglas McCarthy, A, Agoura, Freshman
Beau Lawrence, LSM, Newbury Park, Junior
Spencer Cabello, G, Newbury Park, Senior
Blake Roper, M/FO, Newbury Park, Sophomore
Ian Drescher, A, Calabasas, Junior
Daniel Brandolino, D, Westlake, Junior
Kitt Stoddard, FO, Westlake, Senior
Jack Lenthall, SSDM, Oaks Christian, Sophomore
Jaxon Underhill, A, Calabasas, Sophomore
Walker Koch, M, Calabasas, Junior
Zach Paul, D, Calabasas, Senior

Note: The Marmonte League does not officially recognize Honorable Mention selections in all-league honors, but the league’s lacrosse coaches voted on and selected the players listed above as deserving of such mention.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here