Denver Wins Title; OC Pair Win Rings

Lacrosse is officially no longer a sport reserved for the Northeast Ivy Leaguers. In convincing fashion, the Denver Pioneers became the first men’s lacrosse champion located further West than Chapel Hill, NC, by defeating Maryland on Monday afternoon in Philadelphia, 10-5, and in so doing has ushered in a new era of lacrosse. Testament to that fact is that one of Denver’s top players is Foothill alum Erik Adamson, a first-line midfielder who scored a goal in the title game and wrapped up his senior year with a championship ring to cap a 35-goal season for the 17-2 Pioneers. Fellow OC resident Scott McGowan, a sophomore LSM who starred at St. Margaret’s Episcopal and played in four games this year for the Pioneers, also is now a national champion.

Several of OC’s top high school players are headed to Denver next season, led by Foothill attack man Nate Marano, St. Margaret’s face-off midfielder Ryan Harnisch and Corona del Mar defenseman/LSM Brett Greenlee.

Congratulations to the Pioneers and OC’s pair of national champions!

– staff report


Recent Headlines