Corona del Mar shuts down St. Margaret’s to advance to semi-finals


Riley Chester of St. Margaret’s Commits to Monmouth

Chester finished his junior year with 33 goals and 17 assists.

Julian Jenkins of Los Alamitos commits to Holy Cross

Jenkins was an All Sunset League First Teamer team and Griffins captain this past spring.

St. Margaret’s Hires Megan Armes as girls lacrosse coach

St. Margaret's Episcopal School recently announced the hiring of...

West Genesee More Than Just a Lacrosse Drill

It was 1984, and Syracuse freshman and starting midfielder...


Corona del Mar advanced to the CIF semifinal game after beating cross-town rival St. Margaret’s in a rematch from earlier in the year when SMES defeated the Kings in overtime. This time it was the Sea Kings who came out on top in a low-scoring defensive battle that ended with a 7-4 win for Kings. The Sea Kings have won 10 straight, are playing great lacrosse right now, and seem to be getting better with each game.

St. Margaret’s had the early advantage with Owen Binder (1g) and Seth Forstot (1g, 1a) giving the Tartans a 2-0 lead as the first quarter came to an end. Forstot’s goal came courtesy of a nice feed from Koa Todd (1a) who disrupted the CdM defense with a slick dodge and then found the open Forstot.

The Sea Kings were able to knot things up by halftime. One goal each from CdM’s Big Three of Logan Ip, Ty Caffarelli and Lucas Newton offset a Matt Groeninger (2g) tally to close the first half in a 3-3 tie. 

The second half was all Kings, as the defense stepped up and held the Tartans to just one Groeninger goal in the second half.

Kings sophomore goalie Grant Guilano ended the game with 4 saves and held off a Tartans comeback alongside his defenseman, Tyler Brown (5gb), Tucker Jackson (3gbs), Chase Habermehl (2 gbs). Sebastien Chicas ended the night with 9 saves for the Tartans.

Newton, Ip and Caffarelli each had 2 goals, while Oliver Ayala had 1 goal.

Up next for the Kings is a semi-final game this Friday versus Loyola. The Tartans look forward to 2022.

CdM boys lacrosse contributed to this article.