Concordia_Irvine Lacrosse
Photo credit: Concordia-Irvine lacrosse

Concordia-Irvine, the reigning Men’s Collegiate Lacrosse Association Division II champions will move up to Division 1 beginning next season.  The Eagles will compete in the Southwestern Lacrosse Conference North Division against Chapman, Claremont, UC Santa Barbara, UCLA and USC.

Concordia is a combined 48-3 over the last three seasons and has not lost to an SLC Division II opponent since 2014.  Loyola Marymount will transition to Division II for the 2018 campaign to complete the conference restructuring.   The full story from MCLA.US is provided below.

SAN DIEGO – The (SLC), which sponsors teams in Southern California, Nevada and Arizona, has announced a pair of changes to its divisions for the 2018 season.

Concordia-Irvine, which won the 2017 MCLA Division National Championships powered by Under Armour, will play in Division I next spring, while Loyola-Marymount will transition to Division II for the 2018 campaign.

“This is a good fit for both programs right now,” said SLC president Matt Holman. “Concordia has proven they can play with anyone in the MCLA at either level, so the move should be a smooth one. Loyola-Marymount’s move to Division II will allow it to rebuild a strong foundation and offer a better lacrosse experience for its program members.”

The two schools will essentially trade places, with Concordia-Irvine moving into the SLC North division with Chapman, Claremont, UC Santa Barbara, UCLA and USC.

Loyola-Marymount will be slotted in the SLC South in Division II, where they will join Cal State Long Beach, Cal State San Marcos, San Diego, UC Irvine and UC San Diego.

“The experience is going to make our players and our program stronger in the long run,” said Concordia-Irvine coach Ryan Brent. “We have built a really strong program here over the last four years and as long as we continue that trajectory with recruiting, retention and support, I’m sure our program will be successful at the higher level.”

2018 Southwestern Lacrosse Conference
Divisional Structure

Division I
UC Santa Barbara

Arizona State
Grand Canyon
San Diego State

Division II
Cal State Channel Islands
Cal State Fullerton
Northern Arizona

Cal State Long Beach
Cal State San Marcos
San Diego
UC Irvine
UC San Diego


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here