Coaches Schedule 3 Play-In Games to Determine Final Seeds

The U.S. Lacrosse coaches met Sunday to select and seed teams for the upcoming 16-team playoff tournament, and the big news is that it actually now is a 19-team playoff tournament.

The coaches voted to hold three play-in games on Monday to determine the final three seeds in the 16-team bracket.

Palos Verdes, as expected, received the No. 1 seed. The Sea Kings will play the winner of a Monday play-in game between West Ranch and Sierra Canyon (Monday, 4 p.m. at Sierra Canyon).

Loyola is seeded No. 2 and will play No. 15, the winner of a play-in game between Culver City and Palisades.

Peninsula received the No. 3 seed and awaits the winner of a play-in game between Brentwood and El Segundo to determine the No. 14 seed.

Here is the complete list of play-in and first-round matchups:

16 Sierra Canyon (13-3) vs. West Ranch (10-7) winner at
1 Palos Verdes (13-5)

9 Newbury Park (13-4) at
8 Oak Park (9-7)

13 Chaminade (9-9) at
4 Harvard Westlake (10-7)

12 Redondo Union (6-10) at
5 Westlake (14-1)

14 Brentwood (8-6) vs. El Segundo (12-4) winner at
3 Peninsula (15-2)

11 Mira Costa (9-6) at
6 Thousand Oaks (12-4)

10 Agoura (6-9) at
7 Crespi (10-6)

15 Palisades (15-3) vs. Culver City (7-10) winner at
2 Loyola (14-3)

Play-in games will take place Monday; first-round matchups will be held Tuesday. Details to come.