Cal’s Jake Pistotnik Named Third-Team All-American

California face-off middie Jake Pistotnik, a freshman from Sierra Canyon in Chatsworth, has been named third team MCLA Division I All-American.

Pistotnik, a two-time Gold Coast League Player of the Year in high school, was one of two L.A.-area players and 16 Southern Californians named on the MCLA All-American lists. Liberty University’s Brett Wood, a defensive midfielder from El Segundo, was named honorable mention.

Pistotnik helped the Golden Bears to a 16-3 overall record and a berth in the semifinal round of the 2017 MCLA National Championships Powered by Under Armour. The Bears lost 13-10 to eventual national champion Grand Canyon.

For the season, Pistotnik won 104 of 189 face-offs for Cal (55 percent), collected 125 ground balls and contributed offensively with 18 goals and 11 assists.

The 16 Southern Californian’s named All-American are listed below. The complete list is available here. The list of Division II All-Americans is here.

SoCal MCLA Division I All-Americans

First team
A – Joe Balestieri, Grand Canyon (Ranch Bernardo)
LSM – Max Neser, Brigham Young (Woodbridge)
FOS – Ryan Chamberlain, Colorado State (Great Oak)
SSDM – Jordan Vicente, Grand Canyon (Eastlake)
G – Sean Pihl, Cal Poly (Foothill)

Second team
SSDM – Michael Seaman, Colorado State (Servite)
D – Neil Lunsford, California (Bishop’s School)
G – Bryan Cooper, Virginia Tech (La Costa Canyon)

Third team
M – Austin Ekeroth, Grand Canyon (Rancho Bernardo)
FOS – Jake Pistotnik, California (Sierra Canyon)

Honorable mention
A – Steve Koressel, Chapman (Huntington Beach)
A – Jake Marthens, Arizona State (Trabuco Hills)
D – Brandon Suchand, Grand Canyon (St. Margaret’s)
D – Colin McMahon, San Diego State (La Jolla Country Day)
SSDM – Troy Brown, Cal Poly (Foothill)
SSDM – Brett Wood, Liberty (El Segundo)

SoCal MCLA Division II All-Americans

First team
A – Jonah Rinaldi, Concordia-Irvine (Aliso Niguel)
M – Logan Perry, Concordia-Irvine (Dana Hills)
M – Alex Kowalski, Cal State Fullerton (Huntington Beach)
D – Winston Robinson, Concordia-Irvine (St. Margaret’s)

Second team
A – Brand Mayo, Concordia-Irvine (Tesoro)
M – Matt Satossky, Concordia-Irvine (San Clemente)
M – Nick Southron, Sierra Nevada (Mater Dei)
LSM – Connor Reed, Concordia-Irvine (Aliso Niguel)
FOS – Bryant Hernandez, Concordia-Irvine (Downey)

Third team
G – Mike Henry, Cal State Fullerton (Cathedral Catholic)

Honorable mention
A – Micah Willis, Cal State Fullerton (Huntington Beach)
LSM – Tilgham Tuebner, Northern Arizona (Servite)
D – Taylor Johnson, Cal State Fullerton (Huntington Beach)