Battle of L.A. Kicks Off Summer Tourney Circuit

The summer lacrosse tournament season kicks off Saturday in San Pedro with the Battle of L.A., an event that has grown from 17 teams six years ago to more than 60 entries this year.

This year, the tournament again will be played at San Pedro’s Field of Dreams and will feature boys competition in U9, U11, U13 and U15 age groups, as well as three high school divisions. Girls competition will be in three divisions: U11, U15 and high school.

The boys high school elite division features the Los Angeles Cobras, made up largely of players from Loyola HS; the LA Mavs, made up largely of players from Agoura and Oak Park; Team 12 United, under the direction of Tom Demaio and BunchNation; and SoCal Express out of Orange County. Cobras HS Elite won the Battle of L.A. last year.

Below is a list of entered clubs, as supplied by tournament officials:

Culver City
El Segundo Eagles
South Bay
Notre Dame HS
LA Mavs
Beach Cities
Beach Burn
Victory select
Mira Costa
Santa Barbara LC
City Lacrosse
WLA Riptide
Westside Warriors
Team 12
Team Scream
Mission Lacrosse
West LA Wolverines
Redondo HS



Recent Headlines