212 Select Beats RC Burgers for Sand Storm Elite Title

Park City, Utah’s, 212 Select Elite posted consecutive one-goal victories in the championship bracket Sunday, beating the LA Cobras 8-7 and RC Burgers 17 Silver 7-6, to claim the Sand Storm Elite title.

All three squads won their groups during Sand Storm Elite pool play, with RC Burgers 17 taking Group A at 4-0-1 and 212 Select and Cobras each going 5-0 to win Groups B and C, respectively.

212 Select, comprised mostly of players from Utah but also featuring players from six other states, outscored its opponents 77-38 in winning seven consecutive games in the tournament. Four Class of 2017 players on the 212 Select roster are listed as committed to NCAA Division I schools — attack Tucker Dordevic (Syracuse), middie Jake Frane (Notre Dame), middie Augie Fratt (Navy) and goalie Tristan Wright (Denver).

The 212 Select roster also included IMG Academy attack Tehoka Nanticoke, who played for the Iroquois Nationals in the U19 World Championships last summer and is committed to Albany.

RC Burgers 17 Silver, which tied 6-6 in its opening game Saturday against Fog City V out of San Francisco, outscored its opponents 50-26 in six games. The Burgers’ roster featured too many college commits to list, among them elite juniors Isaiah Dawson (Bishop’s/Harvard), Zach Friedland (Torrey Pines/Georgetown), Evan Egan (Torrey Pines/North Carolina) and Spencer Grant (Torrey Pines/Michigan). All four are listed among the Top 100 in the Class of 2018 by Recruiting Rundown.

The LA Cobras are made up largely of players from Loyola but also feature top talent from across the L.A area. Among the committed players on the Cobras’ roster are middie Jonathan Partamian (Loyola/Syracuse), middie Ryder Mora (Loyola/Maryland), defender Nico Econn (Loyola/Air Force), goalie Joe Theuer (Loyola/Tufts), defender Morgan Lewis (Loyola/Washington College) and attack Cory Lund (El Segundo/Williams).

Special thanks to Kraig Kupiec of Lacrosse Photos on Facebook for the photo.