Agoura’s Tripp Leads 2018 All-Marmonte League Team

Junior goalie of league-champion Agoura was named Most Valuable Player on the 2018 All-Marmonte League Lacrosse team in a vote of the league’s coaches. Tripp leads a list of seven Chargers named to the first- or second-team lists, six of them underclassmen.

Agoura coach was named the league’s Coach of the Year after leading the Chargers (15-6) to their first league championship and a second consecutive appearance in the US Lacrosse LA Boys semifinals. In that semifinal game, an 8-3 loss to eventual champion Loyola, Tripp recorded 13 saves.

Tripp anchored a defense that surrendered double-digit goals only twice in 21 games, none in Marmonte League play. The Chargers allowed an average of only 6.5 goals per game in posting a 9-1 league record. That league record included two victories over Westlake, a team the Chargers hadn’t beaten in their last 12 meetings. After Agoura held off a late Westlake rally for a 10-9 road win on March 23, coach Lindsay had high praise for his keeper.

“Zach is the best goalie in the state of California, hands down,” Lindsay said. “I’d have him in the cage over any other kid. When he’s on, and he’ seeing it, he’s a game-changer for us. We needed him to play big for us, and that’s exactly what he did.”

Joining Tripp on the all-league squad were first-teamers (junior, attack), (senior, LSM) and (junior, defender), and second-teamers Gage Garrison (junior, attack), (junior, midfield) and Jackson Spar (junior, defender). Additionally, sophomore attack and senior defender Daniel Felton received honorable mention.

Oaks Christian had six players named to the All-Marmonte first team, and three more named to the second team. Westlake and Thousand Oaks each had four players honored, and Newbury Park and Calabasas each had one.

2018 All-Marmonte League Lacrosse

Most Valuable Player							
          Goalie            Agoura		Jr.

First Team
          Attack           Oaks Christian    Sr.
          Attack           Westlake          Jr.
     Attack           Agoura            Soph.
          Midfield         Thousand Oaks     Sr.
         Midfield         Oaks Christian    Jr.
Joshua Shoop         Midfield         Newbury Park      Sr.
Cooper Isaacs        LSM              Agoura            Sr.
         Defense          Oaks Christian    Sr.
      Defense          Agoura            Jr.
       Defense          Oaks Christian    Sr.
           Goalie           Oaks Christian    Sr.
          Face-off         Thousand Oaks     Sr.
        SSD Midfield     Oaks Christian    Jr.
Second Team							
          Attack           Oaks Christian    Soph.
           Attack           Westlake          Sr.
Gage Garrison        Attack           Agoura            Jr.
        Midfield         Agoura            Jr.
           Midfield         Thousand Oaks     Soph.
          LSM              Westlake          Sr.
Will Vangelos        Defense          Calabasas         Sr.
Jackson Spar         Defense          Agoura            Jr.
Rob Garcia           Defense          Oaks Christian    Sr.
Alex Fortunato       Goalie           Thousand Oaks     Sr.
         Face-off         Westlake          Soph.
     SSD Midfield     Oaks Christian    Jr.
Coach of the Year							
Sean Lindsay, Agoura		
Honorable Mention							
Seth Hall            Midfield         Newbury Park
        SSD Midfield     Oaks Christian
          Attack           Thousand Oaks
        Attack           Newbury Park
       Attack           Westlake
Bo Conrad            Attack           Agoura
         Attack           Calabasas
      Attack           Thousand Oaks
Cole Korcheck        Midfield         Calabasas
          Midfield         Newbury Park
          Face-off         Newbury Park
Walker Koch          Midfield         Calabasas
Jake Herren          Face-off         Oaks Christian
Danny Brandolino     Defense          Westlake
Luke Smiley          Defense          Thousand Oaks
Daniel Felton        Defense          Agoura