Lund, Furlong, Hall Headline All-Ocean League Team

Seniors Cory Lund of El Segundo and Parker Furlong and Bradley Hall of Santa Monica were selected for top honors on the 2017 All-Ocean League Team released Tuesday by the league’s coaches. El Segundo and Santa Monica split their games against each other this season and finished tied atop the Ocean League standings.

Lund, an attackman who will play at Williams College next year, earned his second consecutive league Most Valuable Player award after being named offensive player of the year as a sophomore. He helped the Eagles to a 13-3 record this season and a third consecutive playoff berth.

Furlong and Hall, named the league’s Most Outstanding Offensive and Defensive players, respectively, each were named All-Ocean League for the fourth consecutive season. The duo were part of a strong senior class that propelled the Vikings to a 14-3 record and the first playoff berth in the young program’s history.

In all, eight players each from El Segundo and Santa Monica received all-league honors. For the Eagles, Lund, senior middies Daniel Ball and Rory Cochrane, senior goalie Alex Nolan, senior defender Cayman Barber and junior defender Tim Schartz all were repeat all-league selections. For the Vikings, senior attack Kyle Kennedy, senior middie Collin Ferrera and junior middie Griffin James were repeat selection.

Five players from third-place Culver City were selected to the All-Ocean League squad, including repeat honorees John Lewis, a senior LSM/D, Nick Jimenez, a junior defender, and Elijah Zavala, a senior defender. Beverly Hills and Downey each had two players selected.

2017 All-Ocean League

MVP: Cory Lund, senior, attack, El Segundo
Most Outstanding, Offense: Parker Furlong, senior, attack, Santa Monica
Most Outstanding, Defense: Bradley Hall, senior, LSM, Santa Monica

First team
A – Kyle Kennedy, senior, Santa Monica (third selection)
A – Lukas Roscoe, sophomore, El Segundo
A – Thomas Wilcox, sophomore, Culver City
A/M – Jesse Salinas, senior, Downey
M – Griffin James, junior, Santa Monica (third selection)
M – Collin Ferrera, senior, Santa Monica (second selection)
M – Daniel Ball, senior, El Segundo (third selection)
M – Rory Cochrane, senior, El Segundo (third selection)
LSM/D – John Lewis, senior, Culver City (second selection)
D – Nick Jimenez, junior, Culver City (second selection)
G – Alex Nolan, senior, El Segundo (second selection)

Second team
A – Joe Kean, sophomore, Santa Monica
A – Andrew Garcia, junior, Downey
M – Marco Riesgo-Almonacid, sophomore, Beverly Hills
FOGO – Devin Bonney, junior, El Segundo
D – Connor Bass, junior, Santa Monica
D – Tim Schartz, junior, El Segundo (second selection)
D – Cayman Barber, senior, El Segundo (third selection)
D – Elijah Zavala, senior, Culver City (third selection)
G – Tyson Zecher, sophomore, Santa Monica
G – Henry Grote, sophomore, Beverly Hills
G – Xaul Starr, junior, Culver City

2016 All-Ocean League Team | 2015 All-Ocean League Team